How Bias Works

Commissioner Alan H. Friedenthal gave the appearance of bias against me when he made important decisions concerning the custody of my two children. You may notice that I left out my usual careful qualifiers, such as “allegedly”. It was proven and determined by the California Supreme Court, Commissioner Friedenthal did show bias.

When there is an appearance of bias, no decision made by the biased judge can be trusted. There is not due process.

Today in court, I had the opportunity to witness how my own biases keep me from coming to an objective opinion.

You see, Judge Thomas Trent Lewis was presiding over a motion for change of venue on my family law case. Judge Lewis was considerate, gracious and patient. Not just with me, but with all the litigants who came through the courtroom.

He did his best to guide a middle-class couple to try to settle their differences in an informal setting, rather than court. He detailed an estimate of how much a court trial would cost them in dollars, an amount in the six figures.

He helped a Spanish speaking mother figure what her day in court cost, and showed a commitment to have the other litigant reimburse her $25 for the bus ride. He also scheduled her next hearing for a Monday, her day off, so it would not conflict with her work schedule.

Unfortunately, I previously heard that Judge Lewis separated a wonderful mother from her children and then had some kind of hanky-panky with the mother’s finances. And I saw where the entire 2nd district of the court of appeals recused itself from a case where Judge Lewis was the defendant.

Now, no matter what I see in court with my own eyes, I distrust Judge Lewis. Even when he rules in my favor, I wonder what ulterior motive caused his largess.

I have a bias against Judge Lewis.

I have had the opportunity to watch good judges practice. I have seen the way they handle potential bias.

For instance, Judge Richard Strauss in San Diego was hearing a trial on a property dispute. The plaintiff’s attorney was presenting opening arguments and projecting copies of documentary evidence onto a screen. Suddenly, Judge Strauss said he would need to disclose a potential bias. He noticed one of the documents was signed by an attorney who had done some work for the judge personally. None of the litigants thought the relationship would cause a problem. The signing attorney played a miniscule role in the case at bar and was not being called as a witness.

It was ethical and proper though, that Judge Strauss divulged the potential for bias. Our biases affect our judgment. Due process demands that litigants know before a case is heard, if there is some chance the scales of justice are tipped against them.

About laurajlynn

The court's record in my family law case was severely altered. There is plenty of circumstantial evidence to believe minor's counsel Ken Sherman and Commissioner Alan Friedenthal shared bribe money in the case, in order to throw the case in an insane direction. My two children suffered grave and irreparable damage at the hands of the court. It is imperative that we use every legal remedy to return justice to the United States of America. Here is where I beg for funds: Please donate any amount to go directly to my two sons whose lives were torn apart by the court. You can paypal to bohemian_books@yahoo.com. Thank you for helping them recover from court abuse.

3 responses to “How Bias Works”

  1. Cherry B. says :

    I have been before Judge Lewis for years over custody issues. His biggest fault is his failure to rule in a reasonable timeframe. The seemingly simplest of issues require repeat hearings that have the effect of costing parties inordinant sums (in legal fees and time wasted) when in reality (it appears) a higher level of discipline and time-mgmt would’ve led to a quicker and equally legitimate or reasonable ruling. This is one reason his courtroom is always so full relative to other judges. Also beware of his appointing minors counsel as he tends to rubber stamp mc’s recommendations (even, surprisingly, when it contradicts the 730 evaluators). I found that my parental and due process rights were virtually ignored by his failure to rule on facts admitted into evidence in favor of whatever mc was whispering unilaterally into his ear. Since the parties can’t examine mc (to determine how he/ahe arrived at said recommendation) so go a litigant’s due process rights. I for one find the power of minor counsel to be as harmful to children as helpful, based on what I’ve seen through the years. What happens when judicial intervention makes things worse for children??? In my view, it happens frequently in the hallowed halls of 111 N. Hill Street, often coinciding with the court’s apparent presumption to the contrary.

Leave a Reply

